We had a good Mother’s Day at the Sm1ley household.  This, despite its having a rocky start.  I’d had a couple of rough nights on the previous Friday and Saturday, getting all of three hours of sleep Friday night, and about four on Saturday night.  Needless to say, come Sunday morning, waking up was a little tough.  Nevertheless, I managed to perservere, making Mrs. Sm1ley a nice mushroom, cilantro, and egg frittata.  Pop that puppy on a plate, cover it witha light sprinkling of finely grated sharp cheddar, and viola! Mother’s Day breakfast.  🙂

The rest of the day was nice, with the kids and granddaughter coming home with LOTS of flowers, a romantic comedy DVD, some other fun gifts, and then we made Mom a really nice dinner.  Shrimp Brochette, grilled asparagus, poblano / cheddar chicken sausages, spinach / feta chicken sausages… there was more than enough food to make us all miserable.  😆

The only down side to the day was that I was unable to get my own mom on the phone.  I guess I’ll try her again today, but it’s not going to be the same.  After all, today’s not Mother’s Day.

