Last Christmas my kids all got together and bought me a Kindle 3 Wireless.  Let me start by saying, if you want an e-reader, and are trying to determine which one to get – I love mine.  I have since read reviews comparing the Kindle, Nook, and Nook color – and the Kindle 3 blows the others out of the water.  Kindle 3 has four weeks of battery life (with wireless turned off) compared to ten days on the Nook, and eight hours for the Nook color!  It also has 4GB storage compared to Nook’s 2GB.  In theory, that allows the Kindle 3 room for more than 3000 novels.  I currently have eight or nine titles on mine (including a PDF copy of my own novel) and it barely registers that there is anything stored on it.

I also love the fact that the buttons to turn the page are so freaking quiet!  Since I’m about to begin recording my novel for podcast, that’s a huge advantage.  I have taken the advice of so many podcasters before me, and have set up a small recording area in the guest room closet that has a mattress and some clothes to act as sound buffers.  In a few practice sessions, the main problems I have run into is the sensitivity of the Zoom H2 mic.  You see, attempting to read in front of the computer picks up the sound of the fans and hard drive.  Granted, in the case of the hard drive, it was an unusual thing.  For some reason, the TB drive on the system I recently built out as a replacement for my trusty old Dimension has a knock in it that you don’t notice at first.  But when listening to a recording made while sitting in front of it, it sounded like a faint tapping on the water pipes.  It took me several sessions to figure out that it was the hard drive.

But I digress.  🙂

Like I said, to get away from the computer sounds I’ve taken to recording in the guest room closet.  The sensitive H2 picks up all sorts of background noise. The closet eliminates most of them, but I have found that I still catch the occasional rattle of paper, since I have been reading off of printed pages.  Using the Kindle should eliminate that.

I haven’t tried it yet, as I am still working on edits for the novel, but I’m looking forward to the experiment.  I anticipate great success.

