I’m not usually one of those people who makes New Year’s resolutions.  Over the years, I’ve lost track of the number of times I have joined a gym, or vowed to “get more organized”, or some such nonsense. 🙂  But for the last several months I’ve been especially motivated with regards to my writing (as evidenced by the existence of this blog).

I seem to recall hearing somewhere that the human mind is wired in such a manner that it takes approximately three weeks of repetitive action to create a habit. I don’t know whether or not that’s true, and I don’t really want to look it up for fear that I’ll find that it isn’t. I have invested considerably more than three weeks in developing my writing “habit” at this point, and I don’t want the additional mental and/or emotional burden of finding out that my assumption is fallacious.  If ignorant bliss is responsible for keeping me writing, I’m perfectly content with my ignorance. 🙂

At this point I have fully developed a writing “habit” and want to encourage it into full-fledged “junkie-hood”. To that end, I’m going to take the plunge and make some resolutions in spite of my earlier track record.  I think/hope I can stay behind them, this time.

So here they are:

1. Finish writing & start submissions on Streets of Payne. –

Streets of Payne is a serialization that I started for an upcoming e-zine. I was hoping to get in on the ground floor of what looks to be a promising e-zine with a business model geared in favor of developing new writers. My problem was that they want a completed serial before they accept any of it. I am only about halfway finished. I therefore placed Streets on the back burner in favor of The Burning Land, my submission for the Explorers: Beyond the Horizon anthology. 

While working on The Burning Land, I was contacted by one of the editors I had spoken to regarding Streets. They wanted to let me know that there is still a spot for a serial submission.  Of course, at that point I was committed to the Explorers submission and politely explained that to her. However, The Burning Land was completed last week, and has been submitted. There is nothing more I can do on it except wait for the publishers to decide whether or not I made the cut.  Now it is time to get back to Streets. I may or may not still have time to complete it while the slot is open (at this point, I doubt it), but I’ll give it my best shot.

2. Rip up, rework, edit, and begin podiobooking of my novel Phoenix Rising

Yep, my not so secret plan to “break out” as a writer.  Phoenix Rising is complete, and I have no misconceptions on the existing version being very saleable, but I like to think I’ve grown enough in the few years since I completed it that I can address its shortcomings and make it saleable.  And while working on doing that, why not take the additional step of podiobooking it?  My voice isn’t terrible, and podiobooking allows me to edit via the “read aloud” method, as well as (hopefully) get a few people interested in my work.

Besides, it sounds like fun.  🙂

 

3. Finish at least the first draft of my second novel, (working title Soul Eater).  – 

I think this will be my next big project. I already have a couple of chapters done. I have my basic storyline laid out in my head. I have all kinds of notes and research done. And an early version of the first chapter won honorable mention at the Houston Writers Guild’s unpublished authors’ competition several years ago. This seems like a logical next step.  Depending on how it goes, I can also look towards podiobooking it in the future as well.

4. Web site. –

While there is nothing wrong with a blog, I think I misunderstood the real purpose of having one when I started this.  I have come to realize that I have too much going on to try & cover it all in a single blog.  Blogs are (I now believe) intended as vehicles to cover discussions on a single subject.  Otherwise, you are doing nothing other than writing an online diary.  And while there’s nothing wrong with that (in fact, right now that’s really what this blog is), I don’t believe that’s something that will aid my writing aspirations.  So, I have already begun to emphasize the writing part of my life here.  Additionally, I have begun researching the various options available to me with regards to website development.  I have currently opened a Weebly account, but am not certain that’s the direction I want to go.

At any rate, development of a full-fledged web site is something that needs to happen in conjunction with the development of my writing “career”.

Doesn’t look like too much to accomplish in a year, but I want to avoid the common mistake of setting high hopes and then getting discouraged as they become less and less attainable as the year progresses.

So here’s to 2011. May it be a strong year for writing.  😀

