I had a great moment this morning, lying in bed, basking in that perfect balance between sleeping and awake. I think most people are like this, but my mind seems to be at its most creative when I’m in that blissful transition between the two states.

This morning was a high point. I had one of those eureka moments where my Muse brought me the gift of a short story. Now for many writers this is no big deal. For me, however, it is pretty unusual.  You see, I most commonly write long fiction. There is a conciseness required for short story writing, and I constantly struggle with it.  Call it a personality flaw, or lack of discipline, or even lack of talent, but short stories are not my strength.

So this morning’s gift was a big deal for me. I had the storyline almost completely envisioned, and it was definitely going to be a short story.

Wanting to make sure that I didn’t lose the train of thought as I transitioned from sleeping to awake, I made a conscious effort (no pun intended) to remember the details. I showered, thinking about the story. I dressed thinking further on it. I thought about possible characterizations and plot details as I drove to work.

I had that sucker down!

Then I got to work. Today is the first day after Thanksgiving here in the US, and I walked in to find several important items awaiting my immediate attention.

Three hours later, and I didn’t have a clue as to what my Muse had left me.  Elvis had left the building! 😦

So now I’m kicking myself for having squandered the inspiration. Why didn’t I write down at least a few key words or phrases to later trigger my obviously rusting synapses? I used to keep a notebook beside the bed for these circumstances, but got out of the habit when I dropped my writing a few years ago.  Now that I am getting serious about it again, I can see that it’s going to take some adjustment to reallign my habits to better suit my new priorities.

ITMT, I can only hope that my Muse takes mercy on me and inspires me again with some trigger that will allow me to recall the tale that I lost.

(sigh)

